Certification of management systems

Nowadays, the certification of management systems affords undeniable advantages and value to companies by helping to stimulate continuous improvement processes, improve their products, services and management, and to strengthen business opportunities.

It has also demonstrated its effectiveness as a differentiating element in the market, helping to improve business image and create confidence among customers, consumers, shareholders and competent authorities.

However, for certification to deliver its full range of advantages, it is essential that the certification body providing the service be seen as a technically competent, independent and reliable organisation by those who need to trust in the veracity and value of its certificates.

Therefore, companies should always choose accredited certification bodies and request certificates with the ENAC mark; in so doing, they can be confident that for this specific activity the body has shown that it has the necessary independence and technical solvency to provide the service because it has competent staff and its audit teams have the technical competence to understand the products and critical processes of the company, their specifications and the technological environment in which the business is conducted.

Accredited certification services thus contribute to the development of the competitive strategies of companies and offer a boost to the economy and society.

Besides quality management systems and environmental management systems (perhaps the best known types), both the market and Government are placing increasing importance on the fact – and sometimes require – that companies have other certified management systems.

Remember that any management system defined in a standard (ISO, EN, UNE) can be certified under accreditation. ENAC cannot, however, force a body to get accredited because requesting accreditation is a voluntary decision taken by certification bodies. If your certification authority is not accredited for a particular management system, this is because it has not requested it or it has not yet passed the assessment process.

The “Accredited Bodies" section contains details of all certification bodies for management systems accredited by ENAC in the different sectors and industries (agriculture, the production and distribution of electricity, gas and water, food, chemicals, automotive, construction, trade, hospitality, transport, telecommunications, general government, education, health, etc.).

All ENAC documentation relative to the criteria and procedures for management system certification is available in the DOCUMENTS section.

Further information:

Examples of accredited Management Systems

  • Quality management systems (ISO 9001)
  • Quality management systems for aviation, space and defence organisations TEDAE scheme (ISO 9100, 9110, 9120)
  • Quality for digital tachograph centres (UNE 66926)
  • Environmental management systems (ISO 14001)
  • Information security management systems (ISO 27001)
  • Food safety management systems (ISO 22000)
  • R&D+i management systems (UNE 166002)
  • Occupational health and safety management systems (OHSAS 18001)
  • Quality management systems for medical devices (ISO 13485)
  • Energy management systems (ISO 50001)
  • Forest management systems (UNE 162002)
  • IT service management systems (ISO 20000-1)
  • Waste recovery management systems (European end-of-waste regulations)
  • Asset management systems (ISO 55001)