ENAC is a signatory of all international mutual recognition agreements established among accreditation bodies worldwide. These agreements facilitate export activities, since they imply that any report or certificate issued by ENAC-accredited bodies will have the support and recognition of the local accreditation in more than 100 countries, which facilitates trade by reducing the technical barriers to access foreign markets.

To be part of the recognition agreements, ENAC has passed a rigorous evaluation process established by European Accreditation (EA), the body designated by the European Commission to manage the European accreditation infrastructure. Through these agreements, their signatories have access to the internationally established agreements held by the two global accreditation organisations: ILAC (International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation) and IAF (International Accreditation Forum).

ENAC is member of the international organisations:

 ENAC in the international accreditation infrastructure

These organisations are in charge of managing the international recognition agreements regarding accreditation. In addition, they are responsible of policy-making, so the criteria established under their wing must be followed and adopted by every accreditation body. Thus, ENAC has always considered essential to regularly attend to these organisations’ committees’ meetings, leading different working groups, being an active part in their decision-making processes and, even, holding the chairmanship of EA between 2018 and 2020. This is why ENAC currently has a strong and respected voice in all international accreditation forums, where it is considered one of the reference accreditation bodies at a European and global level.

More information

Accredited once, accepted everywhere

See how accreditation supports international trade